Life with our Awesome Son – Delivery and First Month

Being a dad is the ultimate. Holy cow! I love it. Our lil guy is the coolest around. I’m going to let you all know how delivery and first month were/have been.

DELIVERY TIME

On November 15th, Sicily and I went to our midwife for a routine visit only to find out her amniotic fluid was super duper low. A bit fearful, the midwife had our OB/GYN come in and sure enough…emergency c-section had to happen ASAP.

We were told to be at the hospital in 3 hours to check in. I had to go back to work to tell them the news and the emotions I felt were overwhelming. I almost felt shaky and didn’t know whether to cry or puke. I got to work and everyone was crazy excited and worried at the same time. I raced home to Sicily and she had gotten everything prepared, showered and was ready.

We both were in prayers that our baby bear would be perfect and healthy…I knew a c-section was the last thing Sicily wanted, so I tried to be supportive and comforting.

We arrived and checked in to the pre-surgery room. They started checking Sicily’s temperature and blood pressure. Minutes felt like hours. Finally, they took her back and told me to wait while they gave her an epidural and prepared her for surgery. I really didn’t like being left solo to hang while my wife and unborn child were wisked away from me. For those 30 minutes…my anxiety went on a roller coaster ride! I had my scrubs on ready!

Finally, I went back and I saw a sheet up and I had to sit by Sicily’s head. I talked to her a bit and then when they started, she said she felt a lot of pressure like they are were inside of her. Then, we were silent…just listening to them and waiting…and waiting.

Suddenly, we heard crying! Sicily burst into tears and it was the best moment of my life. They announced he was healthy and I was able to stand to see them carry him away to clean him off. Then they brought him over to Sicily and with her tear-stained eyes she smiled and admired this beautiful creature that was created and lived within her for almost a year. A pure miracle!

The hardest part was them taking him immediately from us. We hadn’t even held him yet. For over an hour we waited in the post-surgery room and then a nurse brought our bouncing baby boy to us. Sicily held on tight and I turned on the video camera!

So much hair! Wow! Look at how small! Indeed, he was tiny at 5lbs 11oz and 18.5″ – a wonderful bundle.

When I held him for the first time, my heart melted. I couldn’t believe it was real. I mean, I waited my whole life for this moment and had so many times been worried it would never happen. I kept on believing over the years and then here was the moment I held my son for the first time. It was surreal. Like a dream come true.

We were moved to the post-partum room and were there for 4 days until we could go home. His diaper was the first I had ever changed and my first try was pretty sad! Now, I’m a professional and can do it blindfolded with one hand tied behind my back. Well, *cough* I’d like to think so.

The drive home is when we truly felt like a family. It was just the 3 of us. No hospitals, no guests, just us.

FIRST MONTH

Every day feels new and you learn something. The first week, I was so exhausted I felt physically sick. But, all you keep telling yourself is that it’s so worth it. We just stare at him for hours and it doesn’t get old. When he holds my finger, I feel so much love! He has been a GREAT baby…doesn’t cry much at all unless he is hungry or has a nasty diaper. Now at 4 weeks, he has grown so much and his personality is showing. He smiles A LOT and he like to be held in the air like he is Superman. At first he hated baths, but now loves them as long as you keep the water splashing. Every time he hiccups, Sicily gives him a kiss. He is VERY loved and has plenty of affection. His eyes get so big now as he explores the room, gazing all around. He loves looking at lamps. He loves to be held close. He sometimes snores. He is awesome. He is ours. He has a part of my heart that didn’t exist until he was born.

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Life with our Awesome Son – Delivery and First Month

  1. Congrats!, Btw how did you and Sicily meet?

  2. Tangled Phoenix

    Such an awesome post, congratulations!

  3. kris

    Congrats!!! Im due in july i already can hardly wait to see and hold my baby.

Leave a Reply

